May 15 is approaching, the day WhatsApp users will have to accept the new privacy terms. Initially scheduled for February 8, the date was moved by the Facebook-owned company after users’ dissatisfaction and interference from European and Italian authorities, who accused the app of not being clear. The premise is the news about WhatsApp Business and that for European users, due to the GDP, nothing will change fundamentally compared to the previous system.
On May 15th – He explains chatting in a special section – No account will be deleted and no functionality will be lost after this update. In the past few weeks, we have shown a notification in WhatsApp with more information. After giving everyone the time to verify the information provided, we continue to remind those who haven’t yet, to verify and accept it. After a period of a few weeks, the reminder will be continuous.
It will start from this point, that is, when you receive a constant reminder that the user – WhatsApp states – will have “limited access to features” in order to accept the updates. For example, you will not be able to access the chat list, but you will be able to answer incoming calls and video calls. If you have notifications enabled, you can touch to read or reply to messages, or call back if there is a missed call or video call. After a few weeks with limited functionality – the chat concludes – “You will not be able to receive incoming calls or notifications and WhatsApp will stop sending messages and calls to your phone.”
“We’ve spent the last few months providing our users with more information about the update – a WhastApp spokesperson explains – in this period, most of the people who received it have already agreed to the update. Accounts of those who haven’t yet had the option to accept the update, however, will not be done.” Delete them or lose their jobs on May 15. We will continue to send reminders to these users within WhatsApp in the coming weeks. ”
Close to the fateful date, Germany has banned WhatsApp data collection. “We must prevent the damage and defects associated with the closed-box procedure,” said the Hamburg Privacy Supervisor. Facebook declared that the decision was wrong because it was based on a misunderstanding of interpretation and would not stop publishing and publishing the new privacy-related terms of service.
Reproduction is reserved © Copyright ANSA