Home - Sport - Germany becomes the champion of FIFA 2014

Germany becomes the champion of FIFA 2014


RIO De JANEIRO: After a marvelous run in the World Cup, Germany becomes the first European team to win a World Cup held in South America the moment when Mario Goetze scored a superb goal in extra-time.


The month-long journey that is the World Cup concluded on July 13 with a sensational match between Germany and Argentina. The highly talented but tactically different squads fully utilized their moves to achieve the final target, but in the end Germany was just a little better. After winning 1-0, the Germans absolutely eluded with utmost joy while lifting the famed golden trophy in the middle of Estadio Maracana.

Marked with intensity, both the teams were not going to let the opponent to win, the game’s given time had ended with no goals, which is why the opportunity for golden goal to be happened in the extra-time.

The teams would play for 30 additional minutes and then engage in a shootout in the case of no goal score during the given time. However, it was not until 113 minutes that Germany would formulate a move. Mario Gotze paralyzed Argentina with an unbelievable goal that sailed right past Argentina’s goalkeeper. That goal marked Mario’s 11th goal in this World Cup, but this one is the one ‘golden’ he will always be remembered for.

Germany has now conquered the title for fourth time with the second final win over Argentina whom Germany beat last time in 1990. However, this is the first time that any European country has won in the Americas.


On the other hand, Argentinean players could not cash a couple of certain chances to convey the ball into the net. Lionel Messi had one last kick, but to no avail. Gonzalo Higuain thought he had made a tremendous goal, but was offside.

Both Germany and Argentina had stimulating runs to the World Cup final and both were equally considered to be favorites on the whole. However, it was the moment for Germany which performed as was expected. Being triumphant with highly favorable matches against Algeria, France and Brazil in the knockout phase, it was anticipated that Germany was on the driving seat. And their last win against Brazil in the semifinals was one of the most impressive presentations of dominance the World Cup has ever seen– Die Mannschaft scored five goals in 29 minutes and ended up winning 7-1 in their own home.

Argentina’s travel to the final was just as exciting, courtesy Lionel Messi. The greatest in the world scored four goals in the team’s first three games, leading them to a perfect record in the group stage.

After an overwhelming month of soccer, we are so sad to see the World Cup finished. It had so many memorable moments like Messi’s strikes, Team USA’s run, that German beat-down ant it hurts to think that we have to wait another four years to be entertained seeing such things again.


Check Also

PSL:2018 Quetta Gladiators vs Peshawar Zalmi

Advertisements Quetta Gladiators now in an extra ordinary form all the players playing like a …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *