Home - Sport - Cricket - Bangladesh secures place for ICC Champions Trophy surpassing Pakistan, knocks off WI

Bangladesh secures place for ICC Champions Trophy surpassing Pakistan, knocks off WI


The Tigers have qualified and succeeded to secure in top eight teams after nine years as it played ICC last time in 2006. Interestingly, it took over past’s one of the greatest sides West Indies.


The teams that would be seen participating in the next ICC champion trophy are: Australia, defending champion India, South Africa, New Zealand, Sri-Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan and host England.

Bangladesh has shown maturity after the 2015 World Cup and has defeated couple of top sides of the world. Firstly, it won home one-day series against Pakistan, following overcoming Indian side and then South Africa. All these wins against top sides have boosted the morale of the team and help them to jump from ninth to seventh in the ICC ODI Team Rankings.


The tournament is scheduled to be started in 2017 and consists 15 matches with teams divided into two groups of four each.

Earlier, Bangladesh concluded at placing itself on seventh place after earning 96 points surpassing Pakistan on eighth spot with 90 points. On the other side, Australia have secured the top place with 127 points. The table below shows the standing of all teams:

  1. Australia: 127
  2. India: 125
  3. south Africa: 110
  4. New Zealand: 109
  5. Sri Lanka: 103
  6. England: 100
  7. Bangladesh: 96
  8. Pakistan: 90
  9. West Indies: 88

Check Also

PSL:2018 Quetta Gladiators vs Peshawar Zalmi

Advertisements Quetta Gladiators now in an extra ordinary form all the players playing like a …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *