Home - Pakistan - PML-N’s Sheikh Ansar Aziz first-ever mayor of Islamabad elected

PML-N’s Sheikh Ansar Aziz first-ever mayor of Islamabad elected


ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Sheikh Ansar Aziz became first-ever mayor of the federal capital.


Out of electoral college of 77 members, PML-N candidate bagged 49 votes, whereas Paksitan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Raja Khurram Shehzad attained 26 votes.

50 Union Councils chairman’s and 27 members from reserved seat participated in the election for Mayor and Deputy-Mayor of Islamabad.


The PML-N’s candidates for Deputy Mayors are Chaudhry Riffat Javed, Syed Zeeshan Ali Naqvi and Muhammad Azam Khan. The PTI fileded Fouzia Arshad, Raja Zulqarnain and Ali Nawaz Awan for Deputy Mayors seat.

According to Election Commission directives, the election were held through secret ballot and polling time was 8am to 5pm.

Check Also

Sheikh Shoaib Axact CEO Arrested by FIA When SHC accepts appeal against his acquittal

Advertisements FIA arrested Axact Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Shoaib Sheikh on Monday after the SSHC accepted …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *