Home - Local - Punjab - ECP releases new schedule for LG Polls in Punjab

ECP releases new schedule for LG Polls in Punjab


ISLAMABAD: Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Wednesday has announced the schedule for Local Bodies (LB) Elections for the Punjab.


In the light of the schedule, in the First Phase of election the categories of seats of Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Union Council and General Members in each Union Council and Ward in the Local Governments of Districts Lodhran, Vehari, Okara, Pakpattan, Bahawalnagar, Faisalabad, Bhakkar, Lahore, Kasur, Nankana Sahib, Gujrat, and Chakwal of the Punjab Province are included.

Under the new schedule, dates for filling of nomination papers with the Returning Officers by the candidates is from September 7 to 11 while the Poll date is October 31.



Earlier, ECP had put off announcement of schedule for LG Polls in both provinces, Punjab and Sindh, in the wake of a request from both the provincial governments. The provincial governments upheld that the schedule should be delayed as District Administration and Law enforcement agencies have involved in rehabilitation process in flood hit areas of both the provinces.

Therefore, ECP had decided under Article 140(A) to extend the time.


Check Also

Check BISE Intermediate 2nd year Result 2016

Advertisements PUNJAB: Intermediate Part II/ 2nd year result has been announced today (September 17, 2016). The …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *