Home - Local - KP & FATA - NA-19 Haripur: Supreme Court orders re-elections

NA-19 Haripur: Supreme Court orders re-elections


ISLAMABAD: The election tribunal of Supreme Court of Pakistan on Friday (today) has ordered for re-elections in seven polling stations of NA -19 Haripur after Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) alleged the winning party Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) of rigging last year.


Dr Raja Amir Zaman from PTI had won the May 11,2013 elections with 117,000 votes. However, runner-up Omar Ayub Khan, who belongs to the PML-N, challenged the results of 78 polling stations, accusing the winner of rigging.

However, infuriated by decision of SC, Dr Raja Amir Zaman demanded that the party is ready to go through re-elections if only it is in the whole of Haripur and not just constituency of NA-19.


A three member bench chaired by Justice Jawwad S Khawaja delivered the judgment in the petition filed by PTI leader Dr Raja Aamir Zaman.
Earlier, the election tribunal had also ordered repolling at seven polling stations of the constituency.

On June 16, the tripartite alliance in Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (K-P) held a protest rally in Peshawar, reiterating their demand for the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf-led government in the province to step down on the alleged charges of rigging in the recent local government (LG) polls. They also suggested re-polling under the caretaker setup and supervision of the judiciary.

Awami National Party chief Asfandyar Wali Khan said that New Pakhtunkhwa has come into being after a massive rigging in the polls, while addressing a huge gathering in Khyber Bazaar, he added, “We have never seen such large-scale rigging and mismanagement in elections in the history of the country.”

Check Also

Valentine’s Day celebrations banned in Kohat by JUI-F Nazim

Advertisements PESHAWAR: Khyber Pakhtunkhwa’s (KP) Kohat district has imposed ban on any celebration related to …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *