Top News

F1 GP Australia in Melbourne until 2035

The Victorian state government announces that the Australian Grand Prix will remain in the semi-national of Albert Park in Melbourne: the contract, which expires in 2025, will be extended for at least another 10 years. Ferrari is the team that wins by a big margin

Mario Salvini


If you are among those who look to Formula 1 with a certain concern about its future due to the many innovations, especially regarding the many new circuits, rest assured: there is certainty and it is called Melbourne. Not that the immediate future of the Australian Grand Prix has been in much question. Until 2025, in fact, this was not the case at all, in the sense that there was a contract to guarantee the Albert Park race. But now they decided to stretch their hand forward, too far. At these hours, the Victorian local government will announce the extension of the agreement until 2035.

Since 1996

Thus, the agreement will ensure that the event will continue for at least forty years, since the first edition in Melbourne in 1996 and since then it has been a regular date, with the only exceptions for 2020 and 2021, due to Covid-19. Altogether, adding the 11 Grand Prix that took place in Adelaide, we’ve almost made it to Australia for half a century in Formula 1. Committed only to championship fit racing, which started in 1985, because in fact we’ve always been racing there, since 1928, in the beginning On Phillip Island, a place better known to motorcyclists, then year after year in different locations each time.

See also  'What I lived in Australia was humiliating'

F.2 and F.3 وصول access

However, keeping to the present: The semi-resident of Melbourne will still be a familiar place for everyone. This is not taken for granted, as it is no secret that Liberty Media receives requests for a seat on the calendar from many countries. Even within Australia itself, other sites are said to be interested in the event. So here the Victorian state authorities wanted to lock up their race. With Formula 2 and Formula 3 too, which have never gone far, to the other side of the planet, but will start doing so from 2023. Moreover, the intentions of the organizers are to modify and modernize the area of ​​the track and box.

Shumi 4 wins, Louis 8 pole

In Australia, as mentioned, we’ve been racing for the F1 Championship since 1985. In Melbourne since 1996, with 4 wins for Michael Schumacher, 3 for Sebastian Vettel and Jenson Button, 2 each for David Coulthard, Kimi Raikkonen, Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton. Exactly, Mr. Lewis has only 2 victories, compared to 8 starting places. Eight poles is, moreover, a record, and no one got more in one track, and for the most part did the same in another, like Ayrton Senna at Imola, Michael Schumacher at Suzuka, moreover, Hamilton made Same also 8 poles in Budapest .

Earl Warner

"Devoted bacon guru. Award-winning explorer. Internet junkie. Web lover."

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button